Pay Day Off

My night shift is about to end in just a few hours and I am quite unsure with how I am going to spend my day off. Today is also my pay day so I should be more than able to give myself a break. But the thought of my family back in Cabanatuan being heavily affected by the previous storms seems to hold me back. The news reached me just yesterday. I called my Mom when I was having breakfast, asked how things are going, and that’s how I knew that our place was actually flooded. Fortunately, no one was hurt. But all of our appliances and clothes were ravaged by the fuckin’ flood.

Honestly, I didn’t give a damn during those times that the typhoons Pedring and Quiel were inundating the country. It happens. It always does. And I don’t have any power to do anything. I didn’t even care to call my family and ask if they were just fine. I think I did but it was brief, probably before the heavy rains had taken full effect. I wasn’t really anticipating any sinister to happen because we haven’t been flooded before. Apparently, things have changed, because we are now among the people in the news whose lives have been changed by the typhoon.

Now, I don’t know what to do. I would like to visit my family but my own selfish instinct tells me not to. First, I can just simply send them money. Second, it would just add up to all the worries and emotional burdens that I’ve been tirelessly lugging around. Lastly, it’s not fun at all.

I don’t know what’s happening to me.

Posted from WordPress for Android

13 thoughts on “Pay Day Off

  1. Sometimes i want to care but i just couldn’t do so because of some emotional mess i’m trying to fix inside. It’ll pass. 🙂 Just do what you think is right.

  2. Of course, I wouldn’t know how you’d react to these things. I can only think of what I’d do if something like this happens to me. I’d probably go home. Yeah, it’s not fun but there are moments when families need to be together. It’s usually the extreme moments of happiness or loss. That’s just me, though.

  3. Don’t worry, it happens to all of us. Rather than see the pain with our own eyes, instinct dictates that we should seek our little box.

    Thank you for visiting my blog.

  4. Trust me bro, i think it would mean a lot for your family back there if you’re going to visit them. 🙂 Money will always be there, but the fact that you went out of your way just to see if everything’s fine is priceless. 😀

Leave a Reply

