The Library

For something to do, my best friend and I visited the city public library last Friday. He had already borrowed a few books before from the library, and has long been bugging me to see the place myself. On the other hand, it was my first time to step into a public city library.

I have never been to a public library before, but when I was still studying my classmates always knew exactly where to find me. The library was the most peaceful place in the school, that’s why it’s perfect for doing my blog drafts and reading.

There were only a few people in the library when we got there. I scanned the room for a librarian but there seemed to be none. Instead, there was only a clerk who looked more like a street vendor than a library staff. From her work area a radio was playing, not that loud but enough to be heard even from the places concealed by the tall bookshelves while I was looking for books. I tried to ask her about Mythology by Edith Hamilton because I couldn’t find it on the shelves. She asked me to determine the book number first.

Finding Edith Hamilton’s name on the Author Cards in the card catalog was easy. I immediately found the card I needed. What pissed me off was when the clerk just looked at me the time I returned to tell her the book number. Instead of answering me, she just continued on what she was doing as if she didn’t hear a thing. My impression that she didn’t belong to that place only intensified because of her rudeness.

We thought of reporting the untoward behavior of that unaccommodating clerk through the text hotline of the city government. This, we believe, was a serious matter that should be pursued and taken action about.

In the end, only my best friend was able to borrow books, mostly Agatha Christie’s, from the High School Library floor. The clerk didn’t really ruin the my day because I was pleased to have read Khavn’s book, Ultraviolins from the Filipiniana/Rizaliana section of the College Library floor.

I remembered the high I used to feel whenever I am surrounded by a vast collection of books. Those were the times when money didn’t come easily. Those were the times when visiting a bookstore was already a luxury.

13 thoughts on “The Library

  1. I agree that libraries are one of the most intimidating places on earth. The sheer immensity of knowledge concentrated within shelves. I remember that when I was in high school and our library did not have something I wanted so much to read, I would go to bookstores and hung out there for hours so I could finish a book without having to purchase it.

    • In my home city, we didn’t have a bookstore like Fullybooked and Powerbooks where you can just sit down and read a book that you like. The school library also sucked because there were only text books and school books, so I always brought my own book.

  2. “I remembered the high I used to feel whenever I am surrounded by a vast collection of books. Those were the times when money didn’t come easily. Those were the times when visiting a bookstore was already a luxury.”

    Yeah, I also feel a high when I’m surrounded by books. I have always relied on them for comfort, when the going gets tough. 🙂

    Have you ever considered buying from thrift stores? Some of my best finds came cheap and dang proud of it. 🙂

    • Yeap. I also buy books from thrift stores. My best find, so far, is the Separate Peace by John Knowles, which we bought for only P17. I still prefer buying brand new books, though. Gusto ko silang inaamoy habang binabasa. : ]

    • With the Pasig Library, all I needed is a Barangay Certification of my Residence and the Library Application with their official seal, so that I can request for a Library Card.

Leave a Reply

