The First Detour

Of all the overrated things I know in life, Starbucks is the only place I keep coming back to however expensive their coffee and other beverages might be. But this is not solely about Starbucks and the way I love their Raspberry Mocha Frappuccino Blended Coffee. More than just a home for expensive but delicious Frappes (usually with ugly whipped cream on top), their coffee house has been a part of my life in a more personal level.

One good example is the way I could not think of anyplace else to go to whenever I feel depressed and in need of some peace. I usually feel like this when I go to work, especially if it’s preceded by a bad fight between me and my best friend. He also knows this tendency of mine, that’s why he tries to make sure that I’m emotionally okay before I get to work at night. However, sadness is a real traitor, attacking anyone during the most unlikely time and place.

My first detour happened when I was still working with my previous company.

The idea occurred to me so suddenly. I was already walking along the Orchard Road of Eastwood City, puffing a cigarette and enjoying the bright lights and sounds of the night, when I came to a halt and thought about ending it all. (December 18, 2010.ย Self Destruct)

After that, I took a half-hour ride to Greenfield District, Mandaluyong and passed the night at my favorite Starbucks place just beside Teleperformance. The place had only few patrons when I got there, Two of Us by Aimee Mann and Michael Penn playing loudly in the background. I had the music volume lowered before I ordered my drink, Grande Extra Hot Praline Mocha.

Only when I had finally taken my favorite spot did I become aware of everything, that I just abandoned my work, that I would be destroying my self again for the second time. It’s a good thing that I brought a book with me. It’s Norwegian Wood by Haruki Murakami. It’s such a sad book. But it served me well that night. Their sadness also became my sadness that I almost forgot about my own.

14 thoughts on “The First Detour

  1. i used to like expensive coffee but when i heard a financial guru said that i will never get rich if i continue doing that i stopped ๐Ÿ˜† i have not tried reading on coffee shops though, interesting no? i wanted to ask, from bataan ka din diba? do you want to do a meet up? let me know buddy ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Reading over a good cup of coffee is good. Anyway, saan ka ba nagwo-work ngayon? I’m here in Manila. But I still visit Balanga, Bataan sometimes. I think I’ll go there after the 30th to fix some school dox needed by my employer.

      • i’m still here. i will die in the metro. ๐Ÿ˜† that is great, so see you when? can you give me your email address? thanks!

  2. it’s always nice to have your own little solitary room, in your case, Starbucks, and for me, the claustrophobic confines of a stinking videoke booth. haha ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. My first coffee cup is a Starbucks White Mocha Frappes. There’s indeed something in the place, not just their coffees, that makes me go back. I even started a monthly me-time ritual of dining alone at Starbucks simply to think about life over a cup of WMF. ๐Ÿ™‚

    BTW, is Norwegian Wood a good read? I never read a Haruki Murakami before…

Leave a Reply

