Withdrawal Method

I had my first taste of cigarette smoke when I was in grade five. I no longer remember what happened exactly but I am sure that it wasn’t a good experience. It was followed by occasional tries during my high school days because some of my friends were also smoking. That was the time when I really learned how to do it: light a cigarette, place the filter between your lips, inhale through your mouth until you feel that the smoke that passes through the cigarette gets to your chest. Then let it all out into the air again.

It felt good.

I would usually light up a stick when I feel nervous. Smoking was also my companion whenever I feel depressed and alone. I would breathe it in, lay down on my bed, and feel my heartbeat slow down as I close my eyes and drift into a deep, dreamless slumber.

My affection for cigarette smoking intensified when I entered the call center industry. But I don’t blame the people around me. It’s just that smoking really is something to do during idle times, and also a reliever after a very stressful shift. One thing I hated about cigarette smokers, though, is the sector of “buraot” people who would always ask you for a stick or two. And worst, they’re like that not just for a day but everyday. For crying out loud, if you have a vice, make sure that you’re responsible enough to sustain it yourself!

I am still working in the same industry but things have changed so suddenly. What I can remember is that I was having a bad cough almost a month ago that I had to refrain from smoking for a day. I posted something about it on my Facebook wall in prospect that it may encourage me from qutting once and for all. Day two, day three passed. One week, two weeks, and now I am through with the fourth week.

Posted from WordPress for Android

27 thoughts on “Withdrawal Method

    • I’m still on the process of quitting. Maaga pa para sabihin ko na naka-quit na talaga ako. Minsan kasi malakas pa rin yung urge. Nilalabanan ko lang.

  1. hMn.. I woNdeR kung aNunG fEeLinG nG nAg w wiTh dRaw sa YoSi..

    uNa.. HinDi nAmaN akO nG wi-WiThdRaw sA pAniNigAriLyO…

    pAngAlaWa.. hiNdi NaMan aKo nAniNiGariLyO… (teKa.. bALikTad atA..)

    wElL, koNgRaTs.. tRy mO yUnG eLecTroNiv yOsi.. (giNagAmiT yUn nG ka wOrk mAte kO datE.. hABanG naSa ShiFt..)

  2. It’s a very difficult habit to kick. I only refrain from smoking when our choir has an upcoming concert. Mga a month before the concert, tumitigil na ako. It helps a lot with the breathing. Pero right after the concert, I chain-smoke an entire pack. Lol.

    Yeah, I know how difficult it is to quit, so congrats to you. =)

  3. It’s really hard to quit when you’re being surrounded with smokers. In my case, at least I make it to a point that I only smoke when I’m with them.

  4. “For crying out loud, if you have a vice, make sure that you’re responsible enough to sustain it yourself!” HAHAHA. RIGHT ON!

    Bwiset yung mga taong natuto pang magyosi, hindi naman natutong bumili.

    And four for you for quitting, andami nang napa-quit dahil sa ubong yan.

  5. I read somewhere that a habit is formed in 21 consecutive days and usually it also take that long to break it. So, although this isn’t true for everyone, four weeks are still quite a feat. Abstinence can be such a bummer but it’s worth it sometimes. Hehe. :]

Leave a Reply

